British Guilt in the Deaths of Two US Marines

Discussion in 'U.S. Marine Corps' started by Mancunian, Jan 7, 2017.

Share This Page

1. Mancunian

Mancunian Officer Candidate

Hobby:
    Life
    Hello. I am a British veteran of the recent conflict in Helmand, Afghanistan.

This report is intended to honour those that deserve our respect, to call out those who don't and expose the reality of NATO's capabilities.

It is a long article so i am grateful to all who can at least take a look and maybe discuss it further here.

Thank-you, Anthony C Heaford

http://www.thequietmancunian.com/bastion-airfield-raid.html

YarS likes this.
  2. YarS

YarS Lieutenant Colonel

Hobby:
    Wh40k, Battletech
    Hi, Mancunian.
    It is a very interesting article, and I have some questions. Why they didn't build concrete wall? Where were minefields? What's about of technical defence sensors?

Mancunian likes this.
  3. YarS

YarS Lieutenant Colonel

Hobby:
    Wh40k, Battletech
  4. Mancunian

Hobby:
    Life
    Thank-you for taking the time to view it.

The defences were fine as they were, even with only every other guard tower manned it should have been secure - assuming all the guard towers had night vision that is. But they didn't.

The other issue was the activity outside the base so close to the wire, especially the opium harvesting (from a mission point of view) and decisions like ordered not to fire flares because 'it disturbed the neighbours'. As Major General Sturdevant of the US Command stated:

"We literally had poppy growing right up against the perimeter fence. That was another thing that
    Major General Gurganus tried to take action on, but he wasn't able to accomplish that.

It was because the Afghans had to do it. We weren't allowed to.
    The biggest external threat to the base came from there”

But the British command wouldn't even acknowledge it - it was quite unreal. It was predictable and easily preventable too.​

Last edited: Jan 7, 2017
  5. YarS